top of page

Who's who ?

Click Here

John Bransfield

President

Click Here

Elizabeth Marshall

Treasurer

In early 2006, my American husband and I (also an American) moved from our home in northern California to Paris where we began what evolved into a 15-year adventure of interspersing our ‘regular jobs’ as a London-based flight attendant (me) and software professional (he) with a number of volunteer positions in several African countries (including an 18-month stay in Madagascar). Through it all, Paris was always our home base. We retired in 2020 and decided it was time to give up apartment living and look for a house. We had friends in Pau and the first time we visited the area, we thought this could be our new home. We moved here in July 2021 and our roots continue to deepen with each passing month. I discovered APP during my on-line search for an English-speaking community with whom I could share life stories and build new friendships. We consider ourselves lucky to have discovered such a diverse and welcoming group.

Margaret Parker

Webmaster

I am British and came to Pau in late 2009 with my husband for his work. He has since retired but we have chosen to stay. We have 2 adult children and 3 grandchildren who live in the UK. We have lived all over the world over the last 40 years. My interests include walking, socialising, computing, kayaking and board game playing

Ann Matthews

Coffee Mornings / Ladies who Lunch

I’m British but have not lived in the U.K. since 1975. We came to Pau in 2004 after living and working in Switzerland and then spending 10 years in the Jura region. I enjoy travelling - which is just as well as our son and family live in Australia and daughter in the U.K. My hobbies include crafting, reading, walking and the occasional game of golf.

Claire Bernatas

Book group 

British-born, I arrived in Pau in September 1988, and married my French husband in 1990. We have 2 adult children who both live in France. I have a full time job, tho my husband recently retired. Unsurprisingly, one of my main interests is reading (mostly fiction), but also baking, swimming, yoga, singing (being part of St Andrews Pau church choir). I’ve been a member of APP for about 30 years.

Joanna Guigon

Walking group / Board Games, Anyone? 

I’m British and live in Espoey with my French husband and son (born 2011).

We moved from the UK in 2013 and lived on the coast, near Bayonne, before settling here, which we much prefer.

I enjoy walking and coordinate the Monday morning walking group.

I’m also a board game addict, both collecting and playing, and organize weekly meet ups.

Ida Marie Kastrud

Crafty Ladies! 

Hana Schumacher

Under 3s Playgroup

Click Here

Jenny Sousk

3+ Playgroup

bottom of page